Texas Time Trials (WetAF,HumidAF and ShitAF)

I haven’t written here in awhile so, I thought this was a good time after the epic weekend. Before, I start I’m keeping it real in this post so, there will be cussing and so on.

I decided early that I would make the mistake of not having a hotel room available for the whole race also that I would arrive a day early this year. That was one of my better decisions. That gave a place where the crew could take naps so, they had there rest.

We started racing on Thursday at 6 PM. I felt strong with averaging 12. 5 MPH if I kept the pace I would have finished the 503 miles. With any outdoor event you have to deal with a bitchy Bipolar Mother Nature . As you see in the title we good rained on and even had a monsoon. I was on a sleep break during the big storm because, Friday during the crazy humidity I became dehydrated and had a dry throat that made it definitely to drink. We took a ride up the road and got two bags of IV fluids then went down for the night. Feeling good Saturday morning I ate got back on the bike to finish it out.

Sometimes during racing it isn’t pretty and your crew has to clean things up when you shit your pants not only once but, twice so you can keep in racing. I owe those guys some drinks big time. Note: keep working on the nutrition. I’m on the right track because my stomach didn’t hurt like in the past. We will tweak the smoothie recipe a little.

I finished with 344.5 miles in 46 hours, 17,421 ft of climbing and 9,245 cal burned.

I know in my mind that without the set backs I would have finished it but, that’s not the important thing. The important thing is I’m inspiring people to keep pushing through!

#ThisIsMS #CochlearCyclist

It all in your Mindset!

One thought on “Texas Time Trials (WetAF,HumidAF and ShitAF)

Leave a comment